National University of Ireland Ollscoil na hÉireann

Constituent Universities Na Comh-Ollscoileanna



University College Dublin www.ucd.ie



University College Cork www.ucc.ie



NUI Galway www.nuigalway.ie



Maynooth University www.maynoothuniversity.ie

Recognised Colleges in NUI Coláistí Aitheanta Ollscoil na hÉireann



Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland



Uversity www.uversity.org

Colleges Linked With Constituent Universities Coláistí ceangailte leis na Comh-Ollscoileanna

Burren College of Art and Design www.burrencollege.ie

Institute of Public Administration www.ipa.ie

National College of Art and Design www.ncad.ie

St. Angela's College, Sligo www.stangelas.nuigalway.ie

Shannon College of Hotel Management www.shannoncollege.com

National University of Ireland, 49 Merrion Square, Dublin 2, D02 V583 Ollscoil na hÉireann, 49 Cearnóg Mhuirfean, Baile Átha Cliath 2, D02 V583 +353 1 439 2424 awards@nui.ie www.nui.ie

f NationalUniversityofIreland 2 @NUIMerrionSq

NUI AWARDS 2017

Promoting Scholarship and Academic Distinction



NUI Travelling Studentships



NUI Travelling Studentships

(maximum of €96,000 for up to four years)

The NUI Travelling Studentship Scheme is one of the University's longest running competitions and has been in existence since 1910

- to encourage the most able students in the NUI federal system to pursue research;
- to enable these students to undertake postgraduate research abroad, in the most reputable universities, towards a doctoral degree, or
- to enable students registered in NUI institutions participating in international partnerships to undertake substantial research periods overseas as part of their doctoral studies;
- to attract these scholars back to enrich the learning community within NUI.

The Travelling Studentship Scheme is valued at up to $\leq 24,000$ per annum (stipend of $\leq 16,000$ and contribution towards fees of up to $\leq 8,000$, where appropriate). At least five Travelling Studentships will be offered in 2017, on the basis of a common competition open to NUI graduates, as follows:

2 Travelling Studentships in the Humanities and Social Sciences (including Business and Law)

2 Travelling Studentships in the Sciences

(including Engineering and Architecture)

1 Travelling Studentship in Economics, Politics and Social Policy

to be awarded in honour of the former NUI Chancellor, Dr T K Whitaker

The closing date for receipt of applications is **Friday 31 March 2017.**

2016 Recipients of NUI Travelling Studentships

(L–R) (top) Kiefer Ramberg, Hassan Ould Moctar, Aurélien Burlot, James Millea, (seated) Sarah Johnson, Vincent Duong



Andrew Hannon BA, MEconSc, National University of Ireland, Galway (Economics)

James Millea BA, MA, University College Cork (Music)

Paul Doody BA, MA, University College Dublin (Philosophy)

Aurélien Burlot BA, University College Cork (Archaeology)

Kiefer Ramberg BSc, National University of Ireland, Galway (Chemistry)

Sarah Johnson BEng, National University of Ireland, Galway (Biomedical Engineering)

Vincent Duong BSc, University College Dublin (Chemistry)

Patrick Heslin BSc, MSc, Maynooth University (Topology & Geometry)

Aaron Tyrrell BSc, MSc, Maynooth University (Differential Geometry)

Deirdre Troy BA, MA, University College Dublin & National University of Ireland, Galway (NUI Travelling Studentship Prize in Philosophy)

